We knew it’d happen eventually…

Hi, everyone,

Jack isn’t doing too well today.  He was admitted to the hospital again on Monday night with several medical issues.  He’d started needing more oxygen in order to maintain his O2 levels, never a good sign.  Then, Monday, he had some low grade fevers and an increased heart rate.  We brought him to the ER when he started vomiting and the fever became quite high.  Turns out he has several things:  continued tracheitis infection, another ear infection, rhinovirus (common cold) and something called para-influenza virus, which is apparently sweeping northern DE, since the hospital is packed with cases of it, right now.  

Jack is on a pretty broad-spectrum antibiotic via IV, which hopefully will help the ear and tracheitis.  As for the viral stuff, it just has to run its course, which is never fun.  

I am home resting, because I too have caught this virus, it seems.  I have hope that he may still make it home in time for the boys’ birthday.  We’ll just have to see.  

30 thoughts on “We knew it’d happen eventually…

  1. Hello there I am so happy I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read
    it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your
    post is simply spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming
    post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  3. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work
    due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  4. May I just say what a comfort to uncover an individual who really understands what they’re talking about on the internet.
    You certainly know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.

    A lot more people should look at this and understand this side of the story.
    It’s surprising you aren’t more popular because you certainly have the gift.

  5. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior
    to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?

    Cheers!

  6. Hi there! I know this is sort of off-topic however I
    had to ask. Does operating a well-established website such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I am brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my diary every
    day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and
    views online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions
    or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  7. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you really recognize what you’re talking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my site =).
    We may have a hyperlink trade agreement among us

  8. Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!

    Carry on the superb work!

  9. When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the
    exact same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service?

    Many thanks!

  10. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thank you

  11. What i don’t realize is actually how you’re now not actually a lot more neatly-favored than you
    might be now. You’re very intelligent. You recognize thus considerably with regards to this matter, made me personally believe it from a lot of varied
    angles. Its like women and men are not interested except it’s
    something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your
    individual stuffs great. Always maintain it up!

  12. Have you ever considered about including
    a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you
    say is valuable and all. Nevertheless think
    about if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this site could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Wonderful blog!

  13. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    But imagine if you added some great visuals or videos to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog
    could undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche.

    Very good blog!

  14. I do believe all the concepts you’ve offered for your post.
    They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for beginners.
    Could you please prolong them a bit from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

  15. However, the prime benefit of buying DTCP approved plots in Bangalore is that it is
    safe and little risk on title. The availability or applicability of any type of mortgage or finance raising scheme discussed in this article is something that needs to
    be determined on an individual basis therefore this article does not constitute advice.

    Life insurance policies that are fully paid up may also be included.

  16. lrjm

    Meg, we will hope along with you (that the boys are home together for bday) Rest up. we love you, the Melvins

  17. Jill Gaffey

    Dear Meg, So sorry to hear this news. The only thing I can see that is good here is that you are forced to stay home and take a long needed rest that you would never have done unless this virus forced you to! 🙂 Jack will be home soon- and will be raring to go once again! Sending our prayers for all! Love, Aunt Jill

  18. Ellen

    Love, thoughts and prayers being sent your way. This too shall pass…. Feel better soon, all Grottis.
    From Nancy’s sister Ellen

  19. karen

    Thinking of you guys!
    I don’t know if this is true in Jack’s case — but whenever N has come home with [one of her many] viruses from daycare, we’ve tried to think of it in terms of immunity. One more virus that she won’t catch again. One down! and a stronger immune system that will face the next bug that tries to attack her.
    hugs!

Comments are closed.